Steering Committee Members

The current COMETS Steering Committee members include:

Steven Moore, Ph.D., M.P.H.
National Cancer Institute
Representing Prostate, Lung, Colorectal, and Ovarian Cancer Screening Trial (PLCO)

Neli Ulrich, Ph.D.
Huntsman Cancer Institute, University of Utah
Representing the ColoCare and WOMIN Studies (within WHI)

Rachael Stolzenberg-Solomon, Ph.D., R.D.
National Cancer Institute
Representing the Alpha-Tocopherol, Beta-Carotene Cancer Prevention Study (ATBC)


Demetrius Albanes, M.D.
National Cancer Institute
Representing the Alpha-Tocopherol, Beta-Carotene Cancer Prevention Study (ATBC)

Clara Barrios Barrera, M.D.
Hospital del Mar, Barcelona
Representing the Genodiab-Mar Cohort

Eric Boerwinkle, Ph.D.
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Representing the Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study (ARIC)

Juan P. Casas, M.D., Ph.D.
Institute of Health Informatics at University College London
Representing University College London, London School, Edinburgh and Bristol Consortium

Robert Gerszten, M.D.
Harvard University
Representing the Framingham Heart Study

Christian Gieger, Ph.D.
Helmholtz Zentrum Munchen Institute of Epidemiology Neuherberg
Representing the Cooperative Health Research in the Region of Augsburg

Marc Gunter, Ph.D.
International Agency for Research on Cancer
Representing the European Prospective
Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC)

Tamara Harris, M.D., M.S.
National Institute on Aging
Representing the Health, Aging, and Body Composition Study (Health ABC)

David Herrington, M.D.
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Representing the Multi-Ethnic Study of Atherosclerosis (MESA) and COMBI-BIO

Ann Hsing, Ph.D.
Stanford Prevention Research Center
Representing the Breast Cancer Family Registry

Claudia Langenberg, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine
Representing the Fenland Study and the EPIC Norfolk Study

Jessica Lasky-Su, Sc.D.
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Representing the Childhood Asthma Management Program (CAMP) and the Vitamin D Antenatal Asthma Reduction Trial (VDAART)

Loic Le Marchand, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Hawaii Cancer Center
Representing the Multi-ethnic Cohort

Charles Matthews, Ph.D.
National Cancer Institute
Representing the Shanghai Physical Activity Study

Cristina Menni, Ph.D.
King's College London
Representing the TwinsUK

Matej Orešič, Ph.D.
University of Helsinki Finland
Representing the Diabetes Prediction and Prevention (DIPP) Birth Cohort

Eric Orwoll, M.D.
Oregon Health and Science University
Representing the Osteoporotic Fractures in Men (MrOS)

Alexandre Pereira, Ph.D.
University of Sao Paulo
Representing the Baependi Heart Study

Elizabeth Poole, Ph.D.
Representing the Nurses' Health Studies (NHS and NHSII), Health Professional Follow-up Study (HPFS), Physician's Health Study (PHS)
Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital

Kathryn Rexrode, M.D., M.P.H.
Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School
Representing the Women's Health Initiative (WHI), Metabolomics of CHD

Svati Shah, M.D., M.H.S.
Duke Molecular Physiology Institute
Representing the Catheterization Genetics (CATHGEN) and Genetics of Early Onset Cardiovascular Disease (GENECARD)

Xiao-Ou Shu, M.D., Ph.D.
Vanderbilt University
Representing the Shanghai Women's Health Study and Shanghai Men's Health Study

Victoria Stevens, Ph.D.
American Cancer Society
Representing the Cancer Prevention Study – II (CPS-II)

Marinella Temprosa, Ph.D.
George Washington University
Representing the Diabetes Prevention Program Outcomes Study (DPPOS)

Hua Zhao, Ph.D.
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Representing the Mano-A-Mano, the Mexican American Cohort

Return to Top