Skip to Main Content
An official website of the United States government
Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program

Leadership of the NCI Cohort Consortium

Steering Committee Members

Note: Year following Steering Committee Members' names indicates term end date.

  • James V. Lacey, Jr., PhD, MPH - 2023
    Beckman Research Institute, City of Hope
    Representing the California Teachers Study

  • Janet Olson, MPH, PhD - 2024
    Chair Elect
    Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science
    Representing the Mayo Clinic Biobank

  • Jelena Besevic, MSc, PhD - 2024
    University of Oxford
    Representing the UK Biobank

  • Yu Chen, PhD, MPH - 2024
    New York University School of Medicine
    Representing the NYU Women’s Health Study

  • Heather Eliassen, ScD - 2022
    Outgoing Chair
    Harvard Medical School and the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
    Representing the Nurses’ Health Study-II (NHS-II)

  • Pietro Ferrari, PhD - 2025
    International Agency for Research on Cancer
    Representing the European Prospective Investigation into Cancer and Nutrition (EPIC)

  • Melissa A. Merritt, PhD - 2024
    AMC Representative
    The University of Sydney
    Representing the Associate Member Council (AMC)

  • Alpa Patel, PhD - 2025
    American Cancer Society, Inc.
    Representing the Cancer Prevention Studies (CPS-II, CPS-II Nutrition Cohort, CPS-III)

  • Dale P. Sandler, PhD - 2025
    National Institute of Environmental Health, NIH
    Representing the Sister Study (SIS)

  • V. Wendy Setiawan, PhD - 2025
    University of Southern California
    Representing the Multiethnic/Minority Cohort Study of Diet and Cancer (MEC)

  • Wei Zheng, MD, PhD, MPH - 2025
    Vanderbilt University Medical Center
    Representing the Southern Community Cohort Study (SCCS)

Ex-Officio Members

  • Katrina A.B. Goddard, PhD
    Director, Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences (DCCPS), NCI

  • Stephen Chanock, MD
    Director, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics (DCEG), NCI

  • Mia Gaudet, PhD
    Senior Scientist, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics (DCEG), NCI

NCI Executive Staff

  • Pothur Srinivas, PhD, MPH (Acting Associate Director)
    Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program (EGRP), DCCPS, NCI

  • Rachel Hanisch, PhD, MPH (Executive Director)
    Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program (EGRP), DCCPS, NCI

  • Scott Rogers, MPH (Advisor, Cohorts and Grants)
    Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program (EGRP), DCCPS, NCI

  • Ad hoc Steering Committee Participant: Scott Rogers